“Duo Sciolto”

“Duo Sciolto” from Spain performs André Waignein – Rhapsody for saxophone and piano: 2nd movement.

Alexandre Gallego Medal, saxophone
Gabriel López Rodríguez, piano

About the artists

Alexandre Gallego Medal finished his saxophone studies in 2008 from A Coruña Conservatory under Narciso Pillo Guerreiro, achieving high marks in his graduation concert and an honors degree in chamber music.

In 2009-2011, he did his Masters Degree in music interpretation, specialty in saxophone, at the International University of Andalusia where he took lessons with Claude Delangle, Arno Bornkamp, Vincent David, Eric Devallon, Philippe Lecoq, Johan Van Der Linden and Juan Jiménez. In 2011 he moved to Zaragoza to work on his PhD at the Aragón Conservatory, broadening his knowledge under Claude Delangle, Jean Denis Michat, Arno Bornkamp, Antonio Felipe Belijar, Federico Coca and Mariano García.

During 2014-2017 he attended the International Academy for Saxophone in Braga and Porto, where he kept improving his interpretative and pedagogic skills under the guidance of Jerome Laran, Otis Murphy, Tomás Jerez, Antonio Felipe Belijar, , Marcus Weiss, Arno Bornkamp and Morphing Quartet, to name a few.

He has performed with different groups: duo with piano, saxophone quartet, duo with cello, saxophone ensemble, symphonic band in major concert halls across Galicia, Spain, Italy, Portugal, The Netherlands and Germany. He has collaborated with the Galician Association of Composers making recordings for radio and television. He has taken part in and become a prize winner of important saxophone and chamber music competitions, both national and international. Together with the pianist Gabriel López, as part of Duo Sciolto in the Concorso Internazionale di Musica da Camera Salieri Zinetti they were awarded a third prize and the Special Cicerone Music&Art Award in Verona ,Italy in September 2016.

Gabriel López Rodríguez finished his piano studies at A Coruña Conservatory under Natalia Lamas, achieving the highest score. He has taken numerous courses in piano technique and interpretation. These include courses given by Domenico Codespoti, Luiz de Moura, Josep Colom, Laszlo Gyimesi, Ricardo Descalzo.

He has played as a soloist together with Gaos Orchestra, performing the Emperor Concerto by Beethoven in A Coruña and Ferrol and with A Coruña Municipal Band performing the Concerto in c major by Leroy Anderson.

He has also premiered works by Juan Durán, D. Cuevas, Fernando Alonso, Rudesindo Soutelo and Fernando V. Arias.

He collaborates with “Amigos de la Ópera “ Association working with worldwide known artists like Thomas Hampson, Daniel Oren, Leo Nucci or Alberto Zedda, receiving great reviews from them.

During the XVI cycle of Galician Authors Association he took part in different concerts alongside groups like Hércules Bros and Santa Cecilia Brass Quintet and collaborated with Airas Ensemble and Azahar Ensemble, groups with great impact.

This year he was appointed Professor of Piano in A Coruña Conservatory where he works as a piano accompanist as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top